//
you're reading...
Health & Wellness

Bringing It Back…

Well, I usually write about health and food and exercise, but I recently read an article about old games that I used to play, and I thought I would write about that instead today. My thoughts are this: kids rarely play outside any more. Kids play video games, or they play on iPads, or use their mom’s iPhones.. all of the time. I recently taught an art class to kids, and after 5 minutes of drawing with me, the 6 year old says to his mom, “This is boring, can I please have my phone?”

I was shocked! WHAT? Not draw? Not paint? Play on the cell phone??!! Oh man. Life has changed. When I was a kid, I played outside. I climbed trees, ran around, built a tree house (with dad), rode my bike, went to the park, swam in the pool, and I also made up games to play with my brother and sisters. We played “Cops,” and we would pull each other over on our bikes ’cause we were speeding. That’s pretty funny; we were only 9. We also made flower bouquets and sold them to our neighbors for pennies (it was their flowers.. shhhhh!).

My point is that kids used to play and create and use their imaginations. What happened? Are parents lazy? Is it just easier to give your kid an iPad? Maybe. But, are our children loosing the ability to think? Is there research about this yet? I remember the original Nintendo and Mario. I was allowed to play for one hour maximum after all of my homework was complete. That was it. It was more on the weekends, but it still was only allowed for a few hours then. My parent were strict about it. Maybe games can be used as a reward, rather than a play time activity all of the time? Can this be done?

Remember hop-scotch? Chalk on the sidewalk? Hula hoops? Jump rope? Roller skating? Even playing marbles!!?? C’mon parents, Bring it Back!!!!

Image

Here is the article I read… http://www.nannyjobs.org/blog/50-old-fashioned-games-kids-can-play/

About theewholeyou

I have just become a health and wellness coach! I am here to: - set and accomplish goals in a way that is empowering and exciting - work to achieve and maintain your ideal weight - understand and reduce your cravings - increase your energy levels - feel great in your body - learn about new foods and how you can easily incorporate them - be more self-assured!!! - discover the confidence to create the life you want

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Always Remember Where You Came From | Laurali Star Diaries - August 10, 2013

Leave a Reply

