//
you're reading...
Health & Wellness

I Broke My Addiction… to cereal

Yes. It has been a year and a half, since I have had cereal. Cereal is defined as: noun 1. any plant of the grass family yielding an edible grain, as wheat, rye, oats, rice, or corn. 2. the grain itself. 3. some edible preparation of it, especially a breakfast food (dictionary.com).

I used to eat cereal every morning. With Lactaid, soy milk, then rice milk, and then almond milk; being lactose intolerant, I could not use normal/regular milk. The cereals I chose from were Lucky Charms, Trix, Coco Pebbles, and Frosted Flakes. Then I decided to try healthier (so I thought it was healthier) brands. I tried Honey Bunches of Oats and Kashi and then Special K. I was an addict. I thought that this was breakfast and the way it was supposed to be. Sometimes, I would have cereal for dinner too… thinking I was being healthy. NO!

As a kid, I had cereal almost every morning. My mom even bought tupper-ware containers for cereal. My family had at least five cereals to choose from every morning. The cereals were always the sugary fun kind; even Frosted Flakes for my dad. Yes siree folks, this was my childhood.

When I began reading about the Paleo diet and began to avoid eating grains and breads and gluten, I learned that cereal was not a good choice for breakfast. It was and is still filled with sugar and chemicals and yes, grains and gluten. There really is nothing good about cereal.

After researching more, I found some ingredients for the “good cereals”:

Kashi: Shredded Wheat – Autumn Wheat
Nutritional Score: 78
Artificial Sweeteners: No
Artificial Food Dyes: No
Sugar Content: 13%
Fiber Content: 11%
Sodium (Mg per 100g): 0

General Mills: Fiber One – Original (bran)
Nutritional Score: 78
Artificial Sweeteners: Aspartame
Artificial Food Dyes: No
Sugar Content: 0%
Fiber Content: 47%
Sodium (Mg per 100g): 350

Uncle Sam: Uncle Sam
Nutritional Score: 78
Artificial Sweeteners:  No
Artificial Food Dyes:  No
Sugar Content: 2%
Fiber Content: 18%
Sodium (Mg per 100g): 245

Read more: http://www.care2.com/greenliving/10-healthiest-breakfast-cereals.html#ixzz2M2JerCeg
These choices are better, but they still have sugar, salt, or chemicals included into their ingredients. Nothing is perfect. UNLESS you do not eat cereal again. My breakfasts now consist of eggs, fruit, peanut butter or almond butter, and or a protein shake. Any breakfast that includes whole foods or non – processed foods is a great breakfast (Lean meats are fine to eat for breakfast as well).
I am proud to say I have finally broken my addiction.
Image
About theewholeyou

I have just become a health and wellness coach! I am here to: - set and accomplish goals in a way that is empowering and exciting - work to achieve and maintain your ideal weight - understand and reduce your cravings - increase your energy levels - feel great in your body - learn about new foods and how you can easily incorporate them - be more self-assured!!! - discover the confidence to create the life you want

Discussion

One thought on “I Broke My Addiction… to cereal

  1. I need to experience the paleo diet 😉

    Sent from

    Dr Jeri Healing Choices

    Posted by myhealingchoices | February 26, 2013, 8:47 pm

Leave a Reply

