//
you're reading...
Health & Wellness

Eat Your Greens!

Ok, so far I have read a lot about plant based diets and it has motivated me (a little). I will be honest. It is hard to go from meat to no meat, or less meat. My brain is conditioned to have protein with every meal. I think to myself in the morning, ok fruit and eggs, or fruit and string cheese. Everything in my head has to do with animal and fruit or veggie. I need to learn how to program myself. Did other people go through this too? ..Other newbies to a veggie based diet?
So, the other day I went veggie shopping, no meat! Nothing! I bought: spinach, kale, collard greens, onions, tomatoes, cauliflower, broccoli, and yams. I did buy bananas, apples, and pears too. This is a good start. Yesterday I made the collard greens for the first time. In a saute pan I added some water, let it begin to boil. I chopped the leaves and threw them in with a little garlic salt. It was good!!!! I was so excited that it was so good. I wish you could have seen me. HAHA! So, then I read about collard greens. This is what I found:

http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=138

Collard greens are so good for us. Antioxidants, cancer fighting, anti-inflammatory, vitamins, and the list goes on.. Try it people!

About theewholeyou

I have just become a health and wellness coach! I am here to: - set and accomplish goals in a way that is empowering and exciting - work to achieve and maintain your ideal weight - understand and reduce your cravings - increase your energy levels - feel great in your body - learn about new foods and how you can easily incorporate them - be more self-assured!!! - discover the confidence to create the life you want

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Eat Your Greens!

  1. I agree. because you can’t go wrong with any type of organic greens out there ; it will only bring about a healthier life ;))

    Posted by wartica | November 8, 2012, 8:12 pm
  2. Good for you! The dark leafy greens are so nutritious. We can definitely get everything we need from a healthy plant-based diet, a daily dose of sun and a little B12 supplementation. I get mine from nutritional yeast and fortified rice milk. (For any anti-vegan doubters out there, B12 comes from bacteria in the soil-not from animal flesh. The only reason a cow would have B12 is if that cow ate some dirt that contained bacteria that contained B12. And with factory farms institutionalizing so much of our food supply, pesticides ruining our soil, and our obsessive compulsive culture of avoiding dirt, it’s hard to say how much B12 any diet contains these days. So it’s probably a good idea for most people to take a B12 supplement. Or get some organic potatoes and eat the (gently washed) skin!

    Posted by Your BFF & E & E & E & ... | November 8, 2012, 8:39 pm
  3. I have tried a few times to go vegetarian. Being married to a meat eater makes it even harder. Hopefully you have much better self control and stay on your healthy diet.

    Posted by quenbysheree | November 8, 2012, 8:49 pm

Leave a Reply

